FREYSCHMIDT - FRINGS - PANANIS - VENN - Verteidiger in Strafsachen

Nikolai Venn

Since being admitted to the bar in 1998, Nikolai Venn has been a practicing criminal defence attorney. In 2001 he became a certified specialist lawyer for criminal law. Born in Constance in 1971, he grew up in Vienna and The Hague. Venn began to study law at the Freie Universität Berlin in 1990. After passing the first state law examination in 1995 he worked first as a legislative assistant, then, after the second state law examination, as a lawyer for a Berlin law office in the field of criminal law.

In 2001 Venn moved to a corporate law firm, where he worked exclusively in commercial criminal law in Berlin and Potsdam. In 2008 he joined his current partners.

Venn is involved in all areas of (commercial) criminal law. He has broad experience as defence counsel in many cases, some of them very extensive. Recent cases include defending managers in banking cases involving BerlinHyp, SachsenLB, and HSH Nordbank and in the investigation of BayernLB on charges of breach of trust, balance sheet fraud and bribery. Venn also advises firms and associations in the field of criminal law.

Between 2001 and 2011, he was a pro bono lecturer in the faculty of law at the University of Potsdam, whose courses included criminal procedural law, criminal business law, the law governing criminal defence, and art and criminal law. He is chair of the Brandenburgische Kriminalpolitische Vereinigung e.V. (the Brandenburg Criminal Policy Association) and a member of various associations involved in criminal law and criminal defence, including the Wirtschaftsstrafrechtliche Vereinigung, the Arbeitsgemeinschaft Strafrecht des DAV, the Vereinigung Berliner Strafverteidiger and the Deutsch-Niederländische Rechtsanwaltsvereinigung (Dutch-German Lawyer´s Association).

Venn's work as an author includes the chapters on Acting for another (Section 14 of the German Criminal Code, Section 9 of the Act on Regulatory Offences) and Breach of supervisory duties (Section 130 of the Act on Regulatory Offences) in the Handbuch Arbeitsstrafrecht (Manual for Criminal Labour Law) ed. Ignor/Mosbacher, Boorberg Verlag. He is a member of the advisory board of the Zeitschrift für Wirtschaftsstrafrecht und Haftung im Unternehmen (ZWH), a journal on commercial criminal law and liability published by the Otto Schmidt Verlag, since publication commenced in 2011.

Kontaktdaten als VCF Datei

FREYSCHMIDT - FRINGS - PANANIS - VENN

Nikolai Venn

Nikolai Venn ist seit seiner Zulassung als Rechtsanwalt im Jahr 1998 als Strafverteidiger tätig und seit 2001 Fachanwalt für Strafrecht. Geboren 1971 in Konstanz, aufgewachsen in Wien und Den Haag, studierte Venn ab 1990 Rechtswissenschaften an der Freien Universität Berlin. Nach der Ersten Juristischen Staatsprüfung 1995 war er zunächst als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter, nach dem Zweiten Staatsexamen 1998 als Rechtsanwalt in einer Berliner Anwaltskanzlei im Bereich Strafrecht tätig.

2001 wechselte Venn in eine überörtliche Wirtschaftskanzlei, wo er in Berlin und Potsdam ausschließlich im Bereich des Wirtschaftsstrafrechts tätig war, bis er sich 2008 mit seinen heutigen Sozien zusammenschloss.

Rechtsanwalt Venn ist auf allen Gebieten des (Wirtschafts-)Strafrechts tätig. Er verfügt über eine breite Erfahrung als Strafverteidiger in einer Vielzahl, teils umfangreicher Verfahren. Aus jüngerer Zeit sind die Verteidigung von Vorständen in den Bankenverfahren BerlinHyp, SachsenLB, HSH Nordbank und im Ermittlungskomplex BayernLB gegen den Verdacht der Untreue, Bilanzfälschung bzw. Bestechung zu nennen. Neben der Individualverteidigung ist Venn regelmäßig als Unternehmensanwalt und in der strafrechtlichen Beratung von Verbänden tätig.

Zwischen 2001 und 2011 hat Venn ehrenamtlich als Lehrbeauftragter der rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät Universität Potsdam zahlreiche Veranstaltungen (u.a. Strafprozessrecht, Wirtschaftsstrafrecht, Recht der Strafverteidigung, Kunst und Strafrecht) durchgeführt. Er ist Vorsitzender der Brandenburgischen Kriminalpolitischen Vereinigung e.V. und Mitglied der Wirtschaftsstrafrechtlichen Vereinigung e.V. (WiSteV), der Arbeitsgemeinschaft Strafrecht des DAV, der Vereinigung Berliner Strafverteidiger e.V. sowie der Deutsch-Niederländischen Rechtsanwaltsvereinigung e.V.

Venn ist Autor u.a. der Kapitel „Handeln für einen anderen (§§14 StGB, 9 OWiG)" und „Verletzung der Aufsichtspflicht (§130 OWiG)" im Handbuch Arbeitsstrafrecht (Hrsg. von Ignor/Mosbacher, Boorberg Verlag). Dem Beirat der im Otto Schmidt Verlag erscheinenden Zeitschrift für Wirtschaftsstrafrecht und Haftung im Unternehmen (ZWH) gehört er seit deren Erscheinen im Jahr 2011 an.

Kontaktdaten als VCF Datei