FREYSCHMIDT - FRINGS - PANANIS - VENN - Verteidiger in Strafsachen
FREYSCHMIDT - FRINGS - PANANIS - VENN - Verteidiger in Strafsachen

Uwe Freyschmidt

Attorney-at-law

Freyschmidt has more than twenty years of experience in dealing with commercial criminal law. He has appeared as an individual defence counsel in numerous cases, of which some have come to public notice, both in and out of the courtroom. He recently defended the former manager of the municipal water works of Leipzig against charges of corruption and breach of trust, an American investment banker against charges of stock market manipulation, and a Bundesliga referee against charges of aiding gambling fraud.

Freyschmidt also advises many companies – from internationally active publicly traded companies to medium-sized limited liability companies. This includes all areas of criminal law, increasingly in the context of conducting internal investigations. He also represents management board members and senior management staff of banks. He has a strong reputation as defence counsel in criminal tax matters (cf. the magazine Wirtschaftswoche 30/2009). Hertha BSC, Berlin's Bundesliga team, regularly recommends Freyschmidt's services.

Freyschmidt also has extensive experience in dealing with doctors' liability in criminal law. He advises hospitals, but also represents both self-employed and hospital staff physicians in individual cases, involving, for example accusations of accounting fraud.

Biography

Uwe Freyschmidt was born in Berlin in 1962. After studying law and American studies at the Freie Universität in Berlin, he passed his first state law examination in 1990. Freyschmidt then worked for an international auditing firm. Following his second state law examination, he was admitted to the bar in 1993. In 1998 he received certification as a specialist lawyer in criminal law.

Freyschmidt began his career as a lawyer in the criminal law department of the law office of Danckert, Deus & Meier, where he became a partner in 1998. The criminal law division was spun off and became today's partnership Freyschmidt Frings Pananis Venn after several name changes.

Lectures and Publications

He is the author of many publications, co-authoring, for example, the guidelines for public limited company management board clients published by C.H. Beck (Beck‘sche Mandatshandbuch „Vorstand der AG“). He is the co-editor of the criminal law journal "Strafrechtsreport". He is also often sought out as a lecturer on topics related to (commercial) criminal law. From 2007 to 2012, Freyschmidt taught at the Berlin School of Economics and Law, where he continues to be a visiting lecturer.

Memberships

In 1998, he was elected to the board of the Berliner Anwaltsverein, the professional association for Berlin lawyers. Since 2002 he has been its second chairman; since 2016 he is its chairman. Since 2016 he is a member of the advisory committee of the Juristische Gesellschaft zu Berlin. Freyschmidt is a member of the committees for criminal law, sports law and traffic law of the Deutscher Anwaltverein as well as of other professional associations (Vereinigung Berliner Strafverteidiger and the Wirtschaftsstrafrechtlichen Vereinigung).

Uwe Freyschmidt
Hausvogteiplatz 10
10117 Berlin
Tel: +49 30 86 87 59 0
Fax: +49 30 86 87 59 11
E-Mail: u.freyschmidt(at)ffpv.de

V-Card

FREYSCHMIDT - FRINGS - PANANIS - VENN

Uwe Freyschmidt

Uwe Freyschmidt wurde 1962 in Berlin geboren. Nach dem Studium der Rechtswissenschaften und Amerikanistik an der Freien Universität Berlin absolvierte er 1990 sein erstes Staatsexamen. Im Anschluss war Freyschmidt in einer internationalen Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft tätig. Nach dem zweiten Staatsexamen wurde er 1993 zur Anwaltschaft zugelassen. Im Jahr 1998 wurde ihm die Qualifikation des Fachanwalts für Strafrecht verliehen.

Rechtsanwalt Freyschmidt begann seine anwaltliche Laufbahn in der Strafrechtsabteilung der Kanzlei Danckert, Deus & Meier, deren Partner er 1998 wurde. Aus der Ausgründung dieser Strafrechtsabteilung ist – nach mehreren Umfirmierungen – die heutige Sozietät Freyschmidt Frings Pananis Venn hervorgegangen.

Rechtsanwalt Freyschmidt verfügt über eine mehr als zwanzigjährige Erfahrung in der Bearbeitung von Wirtschaftsstrafsachen. Dabei ist er als Individualverteidiger in zahlreichen auch öffentlich beachteten Verfahren in- und außerhalb des Gerichtssaals in Erscheinung getreten. In der jüngeren Vergangenheit verteidigte er u.a. den ehemaligen Geschäftsführer der Kommunalen Wasserwerke Leipzig gegen den Vorwurf der Bestechlichkeit und der Untreue, einen US-Investmentbanker gegen den Vorwurf der Börsenmanipulation sowie einen Bundesliga-Schiedsrichter gegen den Vorwurf der Beihilfe zum Wettbetrug.

Rechtsanwalt Freyschmidt berät des Weiteren viele Unternehmen – von der international operierenden Aktiengesellschaft bis zur mittelständischen GmbH – in allen strafrechtlich relevanten Bereichen, zunehmend auch im Zusammenhang mit der Durchführung von internen Ermittlungen (Internal Investigations). Auch Vorstände und leitende Mitarbeiter von Banken werden von Freyschmidt vertreten. Eine hohe Reputation genießt er in der Verteidigung von Steuerstrafsachen (vgl. Wirtschaftswoche 30/2009). Vom Berliner Bundesligisten Hertha BSC wird Freyschmidt regelmäßig empfohlen.

Auf besondere Erfahrung kann Rechtsanwalt Freyschmidt auch in der Bearbeitung von Arztstrafsachen verweisen. Er berät Krankenhäuser, vertritt aber auch niedergelassene und angestellte Ärzte in Individualstrafsachen, etwa gegen Vorwürfe des Abrechnungsbetrugs.

Rechtsanwalt Freyschmidt ist durch zahlreiche Veröffentlichungen hervorgetreten, u.a. als Mitautor des Beck‘schen Mandatshandbuchs „Vorstand der AG“. Er ist Mitherausgeber der Fachzeitschrift „Strafrechtsreport“ (StRR). Er wird zudem häufig als Vortragsredner zu Themen des (Wirtschafts-) Strafrechts angefragt. Von 2007 bis 2012 war Freyschmidt Lehrbeauftragter an der Hochschule für Wirtschaft und Recht in Berlin, der er nach wie vor als Gastdozent verbunden ist.

Im Jahr 1998 wurde Rechtsanwalt Freyschmidt in den Vorstand des Berliner Anwaltsvereins e.V. gewählt, ab 2002 war er dort in der Funktion als 2. Vorsitzender tätig; seit 2016 ist er Vorsitzender des Vereins. Im Jahr 2016 wurde er überdies in den Beirat der Juristischen Gesellschaft zu Berlin gewählt. Rechtsanwalt Freyschmidt ist Mitglied in den Arbeitsgemeinschaften Strafrecht, Sportrecht und Verkehrsrecht des Deutschen Anwaltvereins, der Vereinigung Berliner Strafverteidiger e.V. und der Wirtschaftsstrafrechtlichen Vereinigung e.V. (WisteV).

 

 

Kontaktdaten als VCF Datei